My class and I had the pleasure of having John Scraggins, a Public Relations guru that works for Noble, speak to our class about social media and how to use measurement within a campaign. Within my 4 1/2 years at Missouri State, John is hands down my favorite speaker I have had.

John has changed his career path from being a nurse to a PR representative. I believe within his interactions with people, he holds no judgement upon them. John understands that it does not take a 4.0 to prove yourself within the workplace. I wish that when I enter the workplace, most professionals that I work with have the same mentality.

Noble seems like a great company to work for. When talking about past projects and clients, John was enthusiastic and explained how it takes multiple efforts to be successful. He discussed that there are different departments that have different specialties, and how social media is conducted by PR professionals.

I was not shocked to hear this because I feel the personalities within those in the PR field are are suited for social media tactics. We are still figuring out social media, and it takes creativity and uniqueness to handle the ever changing ways it has.

Another thing I enjoyed about John’s visit was our discussion on large companies that have used social media correctly. Companies like Starbucks, Coca Cola, Oreo, and Skittles have made a great presence within online communities. None of these companies followed a template or traditional media plan to gain attention or traffic to their sites. They simply thought outside the box and created things that are fun for their customers to engage in.

Meeting John has made me realize that when I enter the world of PR, most likely, I will be surrounded by people with many similar interests as myself. Also, that there are people out there that hold understanding within the workplace. I am really glad that John took the time out of his busy schedule to help teach our class valuable lessons.