The past few weeks I have been conducting research for my personal learning project for my COM 509 class. I have been gathering information about LinkedIn, and how to use it within your job search. Within the last four years, I have spent numerous hours perfecting my resume, trying to make it as up-to-date as possible. I have had over three professors look over my resume, and even have the career center tell me what they think.

Within my research, I have learned that using LinkedIn as a digital resume is a smart move.  Recruiters and those working within HR are using LinkedIn to find qualified candidates for open positions, and also to do a little research about who you are. Employers are using social networking sites as a new kind of background check, and are finding more about you then you think.

Think about it. Facebook comes around, you get slightly addicted, and next thing you know, you have 1,000 pictures tagged of you. Three months later, you join the group “Let’s get drunk” for your friends birthday party, and of course, pictures will be posted from that night. Now, Facebook is a great way to keep up with friends and all, but how much needs to be visible about one’s life?

Next thing you know, graduation is approaching and you are applying for jobs. A recruiter from the number one company you want to work for receives your resume and starts to consider you for the job. She logs onto Faceboook, does a search for your name, and poof! There you are, all 900 pictures of you doing things that you are not so proud of. Recruiters and HR are using social media to find out everything about you they can.

The worst part about it… We are the ones who are in control of our profiles, and we chose to show ourselves off as the person who can do a 40 second keg stand. So just a helpful hint. As soon as your resume is out there for recruiters to consider you for a job, either give your Facebook a little makeover, or simply freeze your account for a bit.